2020 Scholarship Winners!

Each year, WGAZ offers scholarships to performers who pursue academic excellence. All participants who are high school seniors or enrolled in college were invited to submit applications. The WGAZ Scholarship Committee reviewed each application, essay and video to select students who stand out in academic, artistic, and personal achievements.

This year, a total of $4500 will be given to the color guard and drumline members who received the highest scores from the Scholarship Committee.

Color Guard Winners:

Our first winner is Elijah Quinto from Maricopa Gems Winterguard!

Elijah is a senior at Maricopa High School. Along with marching in their winterguard program, Elijah was also involved in orchestra for three years where they played the cello and was the cello section leader. One of Elijah's proudest moment in their color guard career was earning the title of color guard captan. After graduation, Elijah will be attending Arizona State University to pursue a degree in Kinesiology and hopes to march with FeniX Independent.

Our second winners is Alyssa Caldwell from Campo Verde Varsity Guard!

Alyssa has been with the Campo Verde Color Guard for four years and became captain starting their sophomore year. Besides marching, Alyssa helped established a color guard program at South Valley Junior High, plays one in the Wind Ensemble and involved in the National Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society. Alyssa plans to pursue a bachelor's degree in behavioral and social sciences field at Arizona State University Barrett Honors College. Alyssa also plans to audition for ASU Sun Devil Marching band for the fall and either FeniX or Oasis for the winter.

Our third winner is Megan Bulson from Williams Field-Black!

Megan started color guard in middle school and has been hooked ever since. This will be Megan's fifth season and was awarded most valuable performer last year. In Megan's free time they help volunteer at Gateway Pointe Elementary School by teaching the younger students learn color guard work and help choreograph for Gateway Pointe. Outside of the color guard activity, Megan is the treasure of Best Buddies, which is a club to promote friendship between special needs students and the Williams Field High School student body. After high school, Megan plans to become a registered nurse by attending Arizona State University.

Percussion Winners:

Our first winner is Belle Kurtz from Breakthrough Indoor Percussion!

Belle started their marching career at Desert Vista High School as a flute player helping take home first all four years. In 2017, Belle made the switch from flute to percussion and played their first season for Phenom Drum and Bugle Corps (Sound Sport at the time). Currently, Belle is attending a community college and plans to transfer to Arizona State University to pursue music education/performance.

Our second winner is Samantha Olsen from Basha Indoor Percussion Ensemble!

Basha High School has provided Samantha a wide variety of music classes and activities to participate in. They spent four years in the following classes: Symphonic Orchestra, Symphonic Band and Percussion Ensemble. Outside of school, Samantha has participated in a variety of orchestral ensembles, including the Metropolitan Youth Symphony, the Phoenix Youth Symphonette, and the Gilbert Symphony Orchestra. In college, Samantha's current plan is to receive a bachelor’s in music education and become a music educator.

Our third winner is Trey Spencer from Casa Grande Indoor Percussion Ensemble!

Trey has been a member of The Pride of Casa Grande Fall Marching Band and Casa Grande Indoor Percussion Ensemble for four years. Trey started as a tenor sax player their freshman fall season and was on toms their freshman winter season. They are proud to say that Casa Grande Indoor Percussion Ensemble is the only high school this year marching in the World Class Division. Outside of school Trey has been drumming at their church since 7th grade. Trey will be attending Grand Canyon University in the Fall and major in Business Administration.


Thank you to all of the members who applied, and to all of the instructors and staff who encourage and inspire their students each and every day!

Congratulations to all of our winners!